Living Room Refresh: Under $100

 

welcome-to-our-home-1205888_640

Just because I’m a grad student–although I’m pretty old–  doesn’t mean I have to live like one. Unfortunately, my living room looked like, well, pretty much like the living room I had when I was in my early 20’s and working at an entry level job. No milk crates, but lots of thrown-together stuff. With a visit from my dad in the offing, it’s time for a change.

But…but…but…money! Tuition for next semester looms. Low on cash, high on hopes, I did some hard thinking.

I started by giving the space a good cleaning and looking at it with fresh eyes. I thought about the positives and the negatives of my circa 1980 home’s living room.

Positive aspects: a tile floor in a nice neutral color, we painted the walls a soft buttery yellow that  I adore. I have a cool wooden bench I love, but I wasn’t quite sure how to use it. We have a big picture over the couch of a tranquil seascape in blues and grays. It looks fantastic against the yellow walls and it calms me just to look at it. It’s beautifully framed with dusky blue-green wood trim. We cashed out the piggy bank and bought this picture two years ago from Goodwill for $15. When I walk into the room, my eyes go right to the seascape and I feel instant peace.

Negatives: It’s a small space, overall. My house has the bane of the circa-1980 design, a living room/dining area combination, and there’s just not much room in the living area. We have a couch and a big-screen tv, which is mounted on the wall. We have seating for two on the couch, but desperately need more chairs…except we just don’t have much room for chairs.

We also have a mishmash of stuff in this room, including a weird faux bamboo floor lamp on my side of the couch with a teeny tiny glass shelf. The teeny tiny shelf just didn’t hold my books, my magazines, my notebooks, my ever-present iced coffee.  On my husband’s side of the couch: a horrific gray plastic shelf, waist-high and covered with all manner of STUFF. Bamboo Thing and Awful Shelf had to go.

We live in Florida and I like the whole coastal ambiance thing, but I’m not into it enough to actually pursue it as a decorating choice. It’s awfully easy to go overboard (at least, if you’re me) and cover every surface in shell-crusted crap.

Instead of hitting the shell-crusted crap aisle at my local HomeGoods, I found myself thinking about the colors in that picture. Ordinarily I’m into very bright colors–I could (and usually do) wear something red on any given day. But that picture speaks to something deeper inside, a desire for a living room area that would be calm and soothing. We spend a lot of time in the living room, and I wanted it to be relaxing.

I became obsessed with side-tables. I wanted to get rid of the Bamboo Thing and Awful Shelf tout suite. With that nice chunky tuition payment due in a few weeks, money was the issue. I did some shopping for new side tables and found that with my budget ($125 to cover the cost of 2 tables) I could buy some wood-veneer tables at WalMart. Ick. Over the years I’ve found that when I buy furniture, I prefer to buy used. I can afford actual real-live wood rather than wood veneer or plastic. So I hit Craigslist.

Ah!

I found some end tables I liked very much. Real wood–the frame painted a dusky blue-green that matches the frame of our favorite picture. The seller wanted $50 for the two tables. I wanted the tables, but a series of unfortunate events made it impossible for me to get over to her place to pick them up. After emailing a few days later and not hearing back, I figured she’d sold them. But no! I heard from her two days ago: If we could pick them up that day, she’d sell us both for $30. When my husband and son arrived home with them, I was delighted. Perfect!

Meanwhile, we needed an extra chair for the living room.  I have a beloved old rocking chair that belonged to my mom and has a nice forest-green cushion on it. That was one possibility.

My $30 tables answered the question for me. The pattern on the tops of the tables matched my bench beautifully. What if we used the bench for extra seating? I needed a cushion for that bench, though, and the bench is kind of a weird size: 38 inches long, 16 inches wide. Hmm. Having a custom-made cushion would be way more than I wanted to pay. Couldn’t find that size exactly, so I decided to go with something 36 inches long and hope for the best.

I found my cushion on the JC Penney website. It’s 36″ x 14″, green (ok, not an exact match for the dusky blue-green theme I’ve got going, but I’m okay with not being completely matchy-matchy) and it was marked down to $48 from $80. It has little grippers on the bottom of the cushion to keep it from sliding around when someone sits on it, so the wood will be visible around it and that will like nice. Even better…a 25% discount using the convenient savings code in the ad. $36 was far better than anything else I’d seen by about $20. Shipping, however, would set me back another $9. Driving three miles to the store to pick it up would eliminate that shipping charge. Voila!

So I’ve spent a grand total of $71 on refreshing my living room ($30 end tables, a cool glass lamp my husband bought with the end tables for $3 which I plan to paint with stencils–that will set me back a few more bucks, but not much–and $38 including tax for my bench cushion.) I don’t plan to get an area rug, although I think it would bring the living area together even more, because I have an elderly dog with occasional bladder issues and I don’t want to spend her golden years feeling frustrated with her.

I still have some cash to spend if I find something else I want for the space, but I’m pretty pleased with what I’ve got. I want to live with it for awhile before considering any changes.

Next step: tuition. Somehow I don’t think I’ll enjoy that nearly as much as I did shopping and saving for my living room!

Author: 25percentsolution

Follow me on Twitter @25pctsolution.

Leave a Reply

